Phunky Fresh Interviews Rapper Decatur Redd

Screen Shot 2013-06-24 at 3.27.03 PM

Decatur Redd

Phunky Fresh sat down with Decatur Redd to pick his mind , and gain insight to his career. Check out the interview below.

 

What sets you apart from others?

 

For one I’m careful with every song I make, every title and subject. I love hip-hop in every sense of the word, so I’m influenced by the culture. I think I’m one of the hardest rappers in the game hands down. As well as I let my fans tell me what sets me apart from others.

At what age did you develop a passion for music?

I was 13 years old when I was introduced to hip-hop, but it was when I was around 17 when I developed a love for the music.

Who are your inspirations?

So many different people inspire me, but my greatest inspirations are 2Pac and Andre 3000.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

I see myself as an icon; one of the biggest in the game with a real story to leave behind. I think I would open a lot of doors for artist especially for guys that come from where I am from— East Atlanta Zone 6 107 Gleenwood.

If you can collaborate with anyone who would it be?

I’m not looking to do any collaboration right now, because I’m trying to build a fan base of my own without the hype of another artist. If I had to choose, it would be Drake, Kendrick Lamar or the lil homie from my hometown Rich Homie Quan.

If you could change one thing about your experience as an artist, what would it be and why?

I wouldn’t change anything; I’d do it all over again. The reason being is, because I’m in a blessed situation right now with RMR. The guy I’m signed to sacrifices just as much as I sacrifice myself, so no I wouldn’t change anything at all.

How have you grown throughout your career?

I feel like I have a lot more growing to do even now, but I’m ten times better than I was when I first started. I have better beats, bars and better people on my team. I even have family that are making the very same sacrifices to see me successful, and that’s priceless.

What words of advice can you offer to our youth?

Believe in yourself first, make the mirror your best friend, and love the way that God has made you, which is DIFFERENT! Don’t be afraid to be just that even if the odds are against you. What you put out is what you get back, so love yourself first and you’ll get that in return.

 

What hypes you up before a performance?

I get on my knees and pray really hard. I also listen to my music for about an hour, and then I turn up.

Are you in a relationship? 

I’m not in a relationship, but everyone has there special someone. I have trust issues, but that special someone keeps me on the ground and reminds me of where I come from. Keeps me focused on my rise to success and less focus on potential female threats.

How do you manage work and family/friends?

My studio is where I live, so it’s nothing for me to make music. Sometimes I have to sacrifice my music to spend time with my family, but truthfully there’s never really a balance. One always gets more than the other, because you can never be in two places at the same time.

 

Do you ever feel overwhelmed in this industry?

Honestly, I’m overwhelmed by all of the snakes and fishy shit in the game. There are too many fake niggas saturating the game. As far as the music game I have a very strong passion for it, so I can never be over burdened by it. I’m built for this shit so I can take more than the average artist. No matter how difficult it may get imma keep pushing. I plan on being here for a very long time so they better get used to me.

What do you do in your spare time?

I am always busy so I have very little spare time. However, I try to spend time with my kids as much as I can. We may go catch a movie etc, and when I do I feel human all over again.

One thought on “Phunky Fresh Interviews Rapper Decatur Redd

  1. Pingback: Mala Reignz ***messymandella*** | messymandella

Leave a comment